

Legislative Assembly Province of Alberta

No. 31

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

Fourth Session

Twenty-Ninth Legislature

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

The Acting Speaker took the Chair at 9:00 a.m.

Government Bills and Orders

Second Reading

On the motion that the following Bill be now read a Second time:

Bill 16 Election Finances and Contributions Disclosure Statutes Amendment Act, 2018 — Hon. Ms Gray

A debate followed.

Hon. Mr. Feehan moved adjournment of the debate, which was agreed to. With Ms Jabbour in the Chair, the names being called for were taken as follows:

For the motion: 29

Anderson (Leduc-Beaumont)	Fitzpatrick	Malkinson
Carson	Hinkley	Miller
Connolly	Horne	Miranda
Coolahan	Jansen	Piquette
Cortes-Vargas	Kazim	Renaud
Dach	Kleinsteuber	Rosendahl
Dang	Larivee	Schmidt
Drever	Littlewood	Shepherd
Eggen	Loyola	Turner
Feehan	Luff	

Against the motion: 7

Fraser	McIver	Smith
Hanson	Pitt	Yao
Loewen		

Adjournment

On motion by Hon. Mr. Feehan, Deputy Government House Leader, the Assembly adjourned at 11:56 a.m. until 1:30 p.m.

WEDNESDAY, MAY 16, 2018 — 1:30 PM

ROUTINE

Members' Statements

Mr. Cooper, Hon. Member for Olds-Didsbury-Three Hills, made a statement regarding Canadians waiting for organ and tissue donations, the organ donation deficit in Alberta, and honouring Logan Boulet, who died in the Humboldt Broncos bus collision and whose organ donations saved six lives.

Mrs. Littlewood, Hon. Member for Fort Saskatchewan-Vegreville, made a statement regarding the success and accomplishments of the New Democratic Party Government's female Cabinet Ministers.

Mr. Drysdale, Hon. Member for Grande Prairie-Wapiti, made a statement regarding the many benefits of the proposed Generating for Seven Generations railway project connecting Fort McMurray to Alaska.

Mr. Horne, Hon. Member for Spruce Grove-St. Albert, made a statement regarding Albertans' hopes for the economy and how the Government caucus listens to the voices of Albertans.

Mrs. Pitt, Hon. Member for Airdrie, made a statement regarding mental health and addictions initiatives in Airdrie, including those from the Thumbs Up Foundation, the Airdrie and Area Health Co-op, and the Foundation for Addiction and Mental Health.

Mr. Rosendahl, Hon. Member for West Yellowhead, made a statement regarding the Wild Mountain Music Festival to be held near Hinton from July 13 to 15, 2018.

Tabling Returns and Reports

Mr. Smith, Hon. Member for Drayton Valley-Devon:

rdnewsNOW website article dated May 14, 2018, entitled "Red Deer Public School Board passes 'another tight budget' for 2018-2019," relating to comments made by Mr. Smith during Oral Question Period on May 16, 2018

Sessional Paper 171/2018

ORDERS OF THE DAY

Government Bills and Orders

Third Reading

On the motion that the following Bill be now read a Third time:

Bill 12 Preserving Canada's Economic Prosperity Act — Hon. Ms McCuaig-Boyd

A debate followed.

Hon. Ms Ganley, Deputy Government House Leader, requested the unanimous consent of the Assembly to shorten the interval between division bells to one minute.

Unanimous consent was not granted.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to.

The following Bill was read a Third time and passed:

Bill 12 Preserving Canada's Economic Prosperity Act - Hon. Ms McCuaig-Boyd

Adjournment

On motion by Hon. Ms Ganley, Deputy Government House Leader, that it be called 6:00 p.m., the Assembly adjourned at 5:48 p.m. until 7:30 p.m.

WEDNESDAY, MAY 16, 2018 - 7:30 P.M.

Government Bills and Orders

Second Reading

On the motion that the following Bill be now read a Second time:

Bill 16 Election Finances and Contributions Disclosure Statutes Amendment Act, 2018 — Hon. Ms Gray

The question being put, the motion was agreed to. With Ms Sweet in the Chair, the names being called for were taken as follows:

For the motion: 39

Anderson (Leduc-Beaumont)	Horne	Orr
Carlier	Jansen	Payne
Connolly	Kazim	Piquette
Coolahan	Kleinsteuber	Renaud
Cortes-Vargas	Larivee	Rosendahl
Cyr	Littlewood	Schmidt
Dach	Loyola	Schneider
Dang	Malkinson	Schreiner
Eggen	McCuaig-Boyd	Shepherd
Ellis	McIver	Sucha
Fitzpatrick	McKitrick	Taylor
Goehring	Miller	Turner
Hinkley	Nixon	Woollard
Against the motion: 2		
Fildebrandt	Swann	

The following Bill was read a Second time and referred to Committee of the Whole:

Bill 16 Election Finances and Contributions Disclosure Statutes Amendment Act, 2018 — Hon. Ms Gray

Hon. Ms Larivee, Deputy Government House Leader, requested and received the unanimous consent of the Assembly to shorten the interval between division bells to one minute for the duration of Committee of the Whole.

Committee of the Whole

According to Order, the Assembly resolved itself into Committee of the Whole and the Acting Speaker left the Chair.

(Assembly in Committee)

And after some time spent therein, the Acting Speaker resumed the Chair.

The following Bills were reported:

Bill 6 Gaming and Liquor Statutes Amendment Act, 2018 — Hon. Ms Ganley

Bill 11 Lobbyists Amendment Act, 2018 - Hon. Ms Gray

Bill 17 Tax Statutes Amendment Act, 2018 - Hon. Min. Ceci

Mr. Hinkley, Acting Chair of Committees, tabled copies of an amendment considered by Committee of the Whole on this date for the official records of the Assembly.

Amendment to Bill 6 (A1) (Hon. Member for Strathmore-Brooks) — Defeated

Sessional Paper 172/2018

Second Reading

On the motion that the following Bill be now read a Second time:

Bill 2 Growth and Diversification Act (\$) — Hon. Mr. Bilous

Debate continued on the amendment introduced by Mr. Cooper, Hon. Member for Olds-Didsbury-Three Hills, on May 9, 2018, that the motion be amended by deleting all the words after "that" and substituting the following:

Bill 2, Growth and Diversification Act, be not now read a Second time because the Assembly is of the view that the Government should pursue other measures to reduce the cost of doing business in the province, including the introduction of legislation to eliminate the carbon levy, which, if implemented, would make the measures proposed in the Bill unnecessary.

Mr. Cyr, Hon. Member for Bonnyville-Cold Lake, requested and received the unanimous consent of the Assembly to shorten the interval between division bells to one minute.

The question being put, the amendment was defeated. With Ms Sweet in the Chair, the names being called for were taken as follows:

Schneider

Taylor

For the amendment: 7

Cyr Ellis McIver

Nixon

Orr

Against the amendment: 33

Anderson (Leduc-Beaumont)	Hinkley	Miller
Carlier	Horne	Payne
Carson	Jansen	Piquette
Connolly	Kazim	Renaud
Coolahan	Kleinsteuber	Rosendahl
Cortes-Vargas	Larivee	Schmidt
Dach	Littlewood	Schreiner
Dang	Loyola	Shepherd
Eggen	Malkinson	Sucha
Fitzpatrick	McCuaig-Boyd	Turner
Goehring	McKitrick	Woollard

Hon. Ms Larivee moved adjournment of the debate, which was agreed to.

Adjournment

On motion by Hon. Ms Larivee, Deputy Government House Leader, the Assembly adjourned at 9:36 p.m. until Thursday, May 17, 2018, at 9:00 a.m.

Hon. Robert E. Wanner, Speaker

Title: Wednesday, May 16, 2018